Soon to Sleep

Soon to sleep,

I wait upon your deathless eyes.

I wait upon caresses,

which will never coalesce.

Never fall upon my flesh,

untill I finally rise.

 

They are the ones we are not,

they belong not to us,

but to the night,

the nearest dear,

the silken within.

 

The canyon decreases visibly,

the earth sheds dusty skin.

Upon the roof alone she sat,

underneath the stars.

The buildings, a badly painted flat

in the glowing fog.

 

For whatever reason,

I am going to go to bed.

I shall lay upon my back

for no reason at all.

A mummy before they wrap me,

awaiting salvation, forever.

Forever awaiting you,

if you indeed exist,

if you indeed will come my way.

 

For no reason other than the obvious,

the light had been rained from the sky.

 

 

~ by tjeffcarey on February 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
